Battle Cry

It pains this place where you live.

This place where the world collapsed deep inside leaving me hollow.

Tears salty, bitter, warm then searing my face.

Cutting across my cheeks and dropping in the well in my chest.

I miss you.

Even though you are right here.

I miss you.

My eyes don’t see you the same.

Rolling weep inside my throat.

Crushing my voice so that I can’t tell you.

I love you.

My chest is locked over this hollow.

Breathing tight suppressing my words.

I miss you.

War scars not borne on the face of the one who fights a private battle.

 

Leave a Reply

