Grow (for Wangari Maathai)

Poetry: Wambui Kamiru, Photography: Jerry Riley. Copyright Koroga II

Her knees pound hard onto the soil beneath me.

She drops to place me within the earth.

Breathing heavy, she works the soil for room for me.

Breath a kiss upon my leaves.

Embraced in her cupped hands, into the warmth and moisture of the earth.

This is my prayer.

My roots flow down, deeper.

I find my place within, holding tight, engaged.

“Grow.”

She whispers to me.

She stands tall above me.

I look beyond her to the sky.

I reach up to her.

Until I stand over her.

My leaves shielding her.

My roots embracing her.


Leave a Reply

